LibGuides: Alumni Access to eResources: Home

eResources available to Alumni of University of the Highlands and Islands

Over 5000 full-text Humanities titles. Approximately 500 titles added annually.

Full text from 209 journals covering the Humanities, International Law and Biology

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Full text original British source documents including ephemerae, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature. Topics covered include conduct and politeness, consumption and leisure, domesticity and the family, education and sensibility, the body. Subject areas include: Education, history, literature and sociology from a gendered perspective. Date coverage: 1450 - 1910

Edinburgh University Press eJournals

Full-text content of over 6000 artcles from 34 Edinburgh University Press academic journals with content from 1999 - current.

Empire Online

Full text original documents including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, and rare books. They include the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, including the British Empire, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism. Subject Areas include: Class Systems, Colonialism, Culture, Empire, History, Imperialism, Race, Religion. Date coverage: 1492 - 1969.

Internurse

Internurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.

London Low Life

Full text original documents including colour digital images of rare books, ephemerae, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. Subject Areas include: Health care, literature, music, prostitution, tourism. Date coverage: 18th, 19th and early 20th century

Mass Observation Online (including updates I-IV)

Full text original source documents from the UK including maps and audio visual resources. The collection covers the effects of the depression in the 1930s, the onset of World War 2, the Blitz and war on the home front, the post-war world, with the rise of consumerism and television. Subject Areas: Anthropology, History, Sociology. Date coverage: 1937-1967

Migration to New Worlds

Concentrating on the period 1800 to 1924, this resource covers all aspects of the migration experience, from departures to arrival and permanent settlement. To supplement this, the collection includes early material such as the first emigration 'round robin' from 1621 and letters from late eighteenth century merchants and travellers in the United States. Some later material is also available, including ocean liner and immigration depot photographs from the mid-twentieth century.

The resource presents an insight into the personal stories of migrants during this period. Letter collections, travel journals, diaries and oral histories provide a wealth of first-hand accounts for research into emigration experiences and the hardship of settlement. These are supplemented by scrapbooks, government papers, hand-drawn maps, watercolours, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide context to the history of migration, legislation and living conditions during this period.

Material on the movement of Indian and Chinese indentured labourers is included within CO 384, digitised from the National Archives, UK. The complete War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence files cover both the emigration and remigration of indentured labourers and all printed material is fully text-searchable. Printed extracts from early files have been separated out to ensure full-text searching is available.

PNAS : Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America

PNAS is one of the world's most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals. PNAS publishes cutting-edge research, science news, Commentaries, Reviews, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences. The journal's content spans the biological, physical, and social sciences and is global in scope. Nearly half of all accepted papers come from authors outside the United States.

This collection of manuscripts, typescripts and ephemerae (including video and visual resources) analyses the social and political changes that accompanied the 'Rock n'Roll' revolution. Subject areas include: Changing Lifestyles, Civil Rights, Mai 68 (May 1968, events of) Nuclear Disarmament, Vietnam War. Date covered: 1950 - 1975

Rock's Backpages

This is a collection of full-text rock music articles from the 1960's to the present day. It also includes mp3 audio files of exclusive artist interviews. If you are having difficulties accessing the resource go down to the section on the left hand side of the screen that says 'Login Via your Home Institution', click on the down arrow and choose 'University of the Highlands and Islands' and follow the login instructions from there.

Sage eBooks

100+ fully downloadable full text eBooks are available to users.

Sage eJournals

676 full-text journals, also including abstract articles in a broad range of subjects. Full Text Access from 1999 Onward

Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007

This full text resource contains original source documents including original manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, maps and images covering the variety, legacy and continued existence of slavery.

Subject areas include: Agriculture, Education, Resistance, Slavery in the 21st Century, Spiritualism and Religion. Date coverage: from 1490

Victorian Popular Culture (parts I-IV)

Full text original documents including ephemerae, pamphlets, music, images, covering popular entertainment in America, Britiain and Europe, c1779 - 1930. Subject areas include: Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic. Date coverage: c1779 - 1930

Women in the National Archives

Original full text documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories combined with a finding aid to women's studies resources in the National Archives in Kew Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies. Date Coverage: 1903 - 1928 approximately