Skip to main content

Shetland College Library

Click and collect

Click and Collect

Due to Covid-19 we are currently not permitting the browsing of books on the shelves. We have therefore introduced a new system for borrowing books called Click and Collect. This service is currently for Term 1 but may be extended longer. 

To make use of this service please check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for resource availability and complete the online form (you can also use the button below). Alternatively you can email requests to zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk. For Photo of bookseach resource we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books.   

Please note that face-coverings MUST be worn in the Library when you are collecting your books.
  • If you are a distance learning student please see the information on our Postal Loan Service

Image by Hermann Traub from Pixabay

 

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books

Borrowing books

You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan periods vary depending on how much a book is in demand. As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue, and Multisearch, includes all of the books held at Shetland College plus all the UHI partner library collections. The catalogue provides links to the eBooks. Books for loan held by other UHI partner libraries may be borrowed through the inter-site loan scheme. To login into our Catalogue, or Multisearch, and most of our other Library resources your username is your ID number and your password is your usual college/UHI password.

Due to the coronavirus we are not permitting the browsing of books on the shelves.  Please check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for the books you need and use the Click and Collect service to request your books.

Reserving books

Shetland College students or staff may reserve a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email to zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Catalogue or Multisearch. If your books have become overdue please email zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If they are books from another Library they can be renewed twice.

Inter-site Loans - borrowing from other UHI Libraries

Inter-site loans

Due to the coronavirus this service is currently only operating with a restricted service.

If you need to borrow a book(s) held at another UHI partner library please complete either the Click and Collect, or Postal Loan, Request form, or email zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk, with book details and we will request the books on your behalf. Books will be posted to your home address free of charge. If an eBook is available partner libraries will not post you a print copy unless there are special circumstances and this has been agreed by Student Services e.g. if you are dyslexic.

Returning books

Book return boxPhotograph of the Library book return box in the foyer at the College

Books can now be returned to the College.  The book return box is situated in the entrance foyer to the College.  Please now return any books that you have finished using.  Alternatively books can be returned to us by post.
All books will be quarantined on return for 72 hours before being removed from your library account and being placed back on the shelves.

You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. If you no longer require a book please return it as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

If you are a distance learner please return books by post.

Note: Due to quarantine please do not be alarmed if books are still on your account (even after a few days) if you have returned them.  All books returned will be quarantined for 72 hours before they are reshelved.

Postal Loan Service

Postal Loan Service

The postal loan service has been made available to help students and staff unable to access Shetland College Library to collect books in person. Students and staff members of Shetland College will not be charged for outgoing postage.   

To make use of this service please check the catalogue, or Multisearch, for resource availability and complete the online form (or use the button below). Alternatively you can email requests to zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk. For each resource we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when books have been posted out. 

Please note the following measures put in place:

  • Print books will not normally be sent out if there is an electronic copy available through the UHI library collections.
  • If you would like to make a special case for receiving print books in these circumstances, please contact us by email (zclibrary@uhi.ac.uk) and the librarian will consider your case. 
  • This service is primarily designed for those unable to collect resources in person and those who cannot reasonably travel to Shetland College. We have Covid-safe collection systems for library books set up at the college. 
  • You will be liable for paying return postage on items sent to you.