Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Lews Castle College Library

Welcome to our Library

Here at Lews Castle College Library we would like to extend a huge welcome to all our new and returning students.  Due to the coronavirus pandemic there are significant changes to the way our services are being delivered (at least for the foreseeable future).  However please rest assured that the Library Team are here to help you and we wish you every success with your studies this coming year.

For an overview of our Library services please watch this video (7:00)

Coronavirus and the library service

Coronavirus Updates: Further information about library services across UHI are being regularly updated. 

Study facilities

The Library at the Stornoway campus is a quiet environment in which to work. It provides individual and group study areas with several pcs for student use. We do ask that you keep noise levels down and respect other students who are using the Library. There is also a silent study room that you can access from the Library. You are welcome to bring your own laptop. Wifi is available throughout the college, it is recommended you use Eduroam. Study facilities are also available at our Barra learning resource centre.

Note: Due to the coronavirus pandemic the Library at the Stornoway campus will not be available for study purposes or to browse books during Term 1 and perhaps longer. Further information will be updated as and when available.

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books

Borrowing books

You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan periods vary depending on how much a book is in demand. As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue and Multisearch cover all of the books held at Lews Castle College plus all the UHI partner library collections. They also provide links to our eBooks. Books for loan held by other UHI partner libraries may be borrowed through the inter-site loan scheme. To login into the Catalogue or Multisearch and most of our other Library resources your username is your ID number and your password is your usual college/UHI password.

There is a useful video guide to Multisearch here (04:51).

Click and collect

(please note this service is not available 12-16 October 2020)

Due to the coronavirus pandemic we are currently not permitting the browsing of books on the shelves. We have therefore introduced a new system for borrowing books called click and collect. This service is currently for Term 1 but may be extended longer.

To make use of this service please check our Library catalogue or Multisearch for book availability and complete this online request formFor each book we need to know the title; first author surname or editor name; publication year or edition and please indicate that the book is in the collection of Lews Castle College library.

If you are having issues completing this form please email lelibrary@uhi.ac.uk. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books. If you are not based at our Stornoway campus please still complete this form and we will advise further about receiving the books.

Postal service for Distance Learners 

(please note this service is not available 12-16 October 2020)

To make use of this service please check our Library catalogue or Multisearch for book availability and complete this online request formFor each book we need to know the title; first author surname or editor name; publication year or edition and please indicate that the book is in the collection of Lews Castle College library. Please only use this form if you are a Distance Learner registered at Lews Castle College UHI.  Books will be posted to you with a Freepost return label

If you are having issues completing this form please email lelibrary@uhi.ac.uk. Please use your college / UHI email so we can identify you.

Inter-site loans

If you need to borrow a book(s) held at another UHI partner library please complete this online request form (same form as click and collect). We will then arrange this for you. If you are having issues completing this form please email lelibrary@uhi.ac.ukIf an eBook is available partner libraries will not post you a print copy unless there are special circumstances and this has been agreed by Student Services e.g. if you are dyslexic.

Please note: If there are books that you need that are not in the collection at Lews Castle College library it may be possible to obtain them from another UHI Academic Partner (AP) library, though the service is temporarily suspended at some UHI AP libraries due to COVID-19 related staffing issues. 

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online by logging into our Library Catalogue or Multisearch. You can also quickly renew your book via MyDay, look for the Library Account tile. If your books have become overdue please email lelibrary@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If they are books from another Library they can be renewed twice.

There is a useful video guide here (01:35).

Reserving books

Lews Castle College students or staff may reserve a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email to lelibrary@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.

Returning books

If you are a returning student please return your books when term starts. If you are unable to return them in person please contact us lelibrary@uhi.ac.uk

Returning your books

You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. If you no longer require a book please return it as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

Book return box

At the Stornoway campus there is a Book Return box located outside the Library entrance, we ask that you return books there. All books will be quarantined on return for 72 hours before being removed from your library account and being placed back on the shelves. 

Note: There is a self-service kiosk which returning students will be aware of but due to the coronavirus pandemic this will not be available for students use.

Postal returns

If you are a distance learner please return books using the Freepost label. Books will be quarantined for 72 hours on return.

Note: Due to quarantine please do not be alarmed if books are still on your account (even after a few days) if you have returned them. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Who can use our Click and Collect service?

The service is available to all current Lews Castle College students and staff. Please check local arrangements if you are  based at another Lews Castle College campus. Registered distance learners can use our Postal service. 

Other UHI academic partner Libraries will have similar arrangements in place for their staff and students.

How many items can I request?

Only 5 books can be borrowed per request form. If you have already borrowed up to your 15 book allowance, you will be required to return an item at least three days before borrowing a new one (as returned items will remain on your account for at least 72 hours while they are quarantined in line with infection control).

How will I know that my book is ready for collection?

We will send an email to your college / UHI email address when your book is ready to collect and to arrange a collection time. You will have 5 working days from the date of your email to collect your request. If it is not collected by this time, the reservation will be cancelled.

If the book is available on the shelf in the Library, you will likely receive this email within 2 working days. Books that are on loan to another user must be returned and quarantined for at least 72 hours. We will not email you until the book is safe for collection.

Please do not come into the Library if you have not received an email from us and arranged your collection time.

Postal service

Can I request a print copy of a book if an eBook is available?

If an eBook is available we will not post you a print copy unless there are special circumstances and this has been agreed by Student Services e.g. if you are dyslexic.

When can I return my book?

At the Stornoway campus you do not need a time slot to return books to the Library. However, please be aware that they will be quarantined for at least 72 hours before they are removed from your account and available for the next customer. Please check local arrangements if you are not based at the Stornoway campus.