Skip to main content
eResources : Temporary Access : Explanation
Many publishers are starting to make resources freely available online on a temporary basis as a result of the worldwide shut down caused by the Corona Virus. The University will work to provide links to these temporary resources where appropriate but cannot guarantee to continue to provide access to these resources once the temporary free access period ends.
Academic staff should not enter into these 'free offers' individually but should refer any queries about such offers, and any offers they may have received from publishers, to the University eResources Manager.
This page may be considered to be 'in development' during the lifetime of Corona Virus shutdown.
Any access queries should be directed to UniDesk as per normal practice.
The following full text journals are available via this site: Annual Review of - Anthropology; Biochemistry; Cell and Developmental Biology; Genetics; Genomics and Human Genetics; Immunology ; Covid-19 Response (free access till 30th April) : content in all journals is freely available until 30th April, at which point the publisher will review the access arrangements.
Askews and Holts eBooks
eBooks individually purchased by UHI. Covid-19 Response (expires 30th June 2020): For participating publishers, all University owned Askews (VLeBook) eBooks will be on unlimited uses / users until the end of June. At the end of this agreement, the eBooks may revert to their current number of uses / users.
Cambridge Books Online
Fully downloadable eBooks on a variety of topics. Covid-19 Response (free access till 30th May 2020) : over 700 textbooks, over 400 'Histories, over 700 'Companions' and over 170 Elements.
eBooks from a variety of publishers on topics that cover a range of UHI courses. Covid-19 Response(expires mid-June 2020) : For participating publishers any Dawsonera eBooks the University has purchased already, or purchases from now onwards, will be on unlimited uses / users initially until mid-June. After mid-June 2020 the eBooks may revert to their current number of uses / users.
eBooks from a variety of publishers on topics that cover a range of UHI courses. Covid-19 Response (expires 30th June) : For participating publishers any University owned EBL eBooks will be set as unlimited users / uses during this time.After 19th June the eBooks may revert to their current number of uses / users.
EBSCO eBook Collection
eBooks from a variety of publishers on topics that cover a range of UHI courses. Covid-19 Response (expires 30th June 2020) : For participating publishers, all University owned EBSCO eBooks will be on unlimited uses / users . This does not include titles not currently for sale or upgrade to unlimited users / uses. After 30th June 2020 the eBooks may revert to their current number of uses / users.
Archives of leading academic journals in full text interlinked by millions of citations and references. Articles published in the last 3-5 yrs are excluded. Covid-19 Response (free access till 30th June 2020) : access to more than 30,000 eBooks, and all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections currently not licensed by the University
Full text, current articles in the humanities and social sciences from over 140 journals. The date coverage is mostly from 1993 onwards. Covid-19 Response : free access to content from particular publishers via the Project Muse platform. End of free access dates vary. See https://about.muse.jhu.edu/resources/freeresourcescovid19/
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
Available till end of December 2020 : No-cost access to full-text content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases. It includes 'authoritative content from ProQuest with content made available at no cost by members of the International Association of STM Publishers – including Springer Nature, Taylor & Francis and The BMJ. Journals, preprints, conference proceedings and dissertations provide comprehensive coverage of COVID-19 and other past coronavirus outbreaks, such as MERS and SARS, for context around the current global pandemic. Full-text content in the database is available either directly from ProQuest or via links to publisher sites.'
Royal Society Publications
UHI subscribes to 2 journals from this collection: 'Biology Letters' and 'Proceedings of the Royal Society B - Biological Sciences'. Covid-19 Response: The Royal Society is making all it's publications freely available to read until the end of May 2020 in the first instance.
Science Direct eJournals and eBooks
Abstract and full-text articles with full text from 2001 plus 8000 eBooks. Abstracts for some articles date as far back as 1823. Covid-19 Response (free access till 15th June 2020): access to 256 textbooks on Science Direct platform