Explore our "Think Environment, Think Sustainability" reading list organised by subject to help you find your next inspiring read, including:
Over the past 75 years, a new canon has emerged. As life on Earth has become irrevocably altered by humans, visionary thinkers around the world have raised their voices to defend the planet, and affirm our place at the heart of its restoration. Their words have endured through the decades, becoming the classics of a movement. Together, these books show the richness of environmental thought, and point the way to a fairer, saner, greener world.
Love Food, Love Life, Love Sustainability
Selection of books with tips, recipes and facts that help you live more sustainably every day!
Inspirational and challenging stories to change the world. Engaging, urgent, educational, but mostly, hopeful.
Whether you are a student or a teacher or simply looking for research publications to expand your knowledge, this section introduces selected texts based on scientific research on climate change, environment and sustainability.
And more!
UHI Library provides access to thousands of books on climate change and sustainability. You can explore the results for both subjects by following the links or search our library collections for more topics using the Library Search below.
Selection of books avaialble to you through UHI library:
Climate change: observed impacts on Planet Earth
This book is essential for researchers, environmental managers, engineers, and those whose work is impacted by, or tied to, climate change and global warming.
Provides a comprehensive resource on climate change and weather patterns, ranging from causes and indicators to modeling and adaptation.
Covers the Jet Stream, catastrophic modeling, extreme weather, the carbon cycle, socioeconomic impacts, biological diversity, deforestation and global temperature.
Contains 25 updated chapters and 10 new chapters, all written by global experts who provide a current overview of the state of knowledge on climate change across a wide array of disciplines.
Explores the concept and practice of sustainability across a broad range of issues and topics.
Fully revised and updated, the book underlines the importance of creativity in the service of conservation within ecological, economic, technological, political, legal, and cultural arenas. Chapters conclude with new Discuss, Explore, and Take Action sections that pose probing questions for review and discussion. A new final chapter presents four practical principles that readers may employ to guide the investigation of sustainability problems and their crafting of viable solutions.
Sustainability presents a hopeful account of the opportunities before us while squarely confronting the daunting challenges that lie ahead. It provides a crucial resource for students grappling with many of the most urgent issues of our time.
Climate change in the Anthropocene
Climate Change in the Anthropocene reviews current science on anthropogenic sources and projections for climatic change. Written in a clear and accessible style, the book covers this rapidly changing field, including the drivers of climate change, the physics and chemistry behind the science of climate change, paleoclimates, climate variables, a comparison of global warning of 1.5° vs 2°C and the impacts of these climatic changes both at a global and a U.S. regional level. Infographics throughout help to explain concepts in a visual way, providing users with a better understanding of climate change. In addition, the book is ideal for advanced researchers who need to explain the underpinning science of climate change for grant applications and working with policy experts, etc. This is an essential book for anyone whose work is impacted by climate change in the earth and environmental sciences
Climate change and extreme events
Climate Change and Extreme Events uses a multidisciplinary approach to discuss the relationship between climate change-related weather extremes and their impact on human lives. Topics discussed are grouped into four major sections: weather parameters, hydrological responses, mitigation and adaptation, and governance and policies, with each addressed with regard to past, present and future perspectives.
Burning ice : art & climate change
Brings together artists and scientists to explore new ways of communicating issues of climate change. This book follows the artists and scientists on three extraordinary journeys to the high arctic, sharing their personal experiences and how they responded in their work. It also includes essays by scientists, writers and educators.
Get clear about why climate change is so complicated and discover how you can help reverse it. Climate Change For Dummies explains how rising temperatures, shrinking lakes, rising oceans, and shifting weather patterns affect your life on a daily basis. And of course the book goes a step further and offers suggestions about how you can take steps to limit your impact on the environment and help to reverse climate change.
Sustainability teaching for impact : how to inspire and engage students using drama
Sustainability Teaching for Impact is an essential step-by-step, practical guide for those wanting to inspire and engage higher education students in the areas of sustainability. The book encourages new and experienced university teachers across disciplines to adopt and adapt dramatic methods, with a view to inspire and engage their students. It introduces applied drama and performance arts methods that have been tried-and-tested across disciplines to deepen and broaden sustainability knowledge, skills, mindsets and practices. Sustainability Teaching for Impact assumes no previous experience of the methods, as university teachers - with and without experience in drama - carefully walk you through some of the teaching practices they have used to create an impact in their teaching. The book is for higher and further education tutors who wish to build on their experience, and deliver exciting and accessible classroom techniques and practices that are highly interactive, creative, and engaging to help further the teaching of sustainability
Education and climate change : the role of universities
This volume draws on a multidimensional model of educational change, the book reviews the field of climate change education and identifies some of the areas in which past efforts have fallen short in supporting effective pedagogical change at scale. It formulates an approach to engage university students and faculty in partnering with schools and adult education institutions and directly contribute innovative curricula on climate change. The approach is illustrated with several case studies which present curricula developed to support school-based innovation in the Middle East and in Guatemala, and adult education in Haiti and Pakistan, and educators preparation at the university level. The chapters offer examples of general value beyond the specific contexts for which they were designed, as they illustrate how in order to be optimally useful climate change education needs to be firmly grounded in the specifics of a context and responsive to that context.
Sustainability education: a classroom guide
Provides an accessible, in-depth guide and critique of sustainability education for school and university students, teachers, curriculum makers and school governors working around the world with children aged 3- to 14-years old. Informed by research findings and learning theory, it provides a progressive framework for sustainability education spanning all subject areas and applicable in a wide range of settings. There are over 180 age-related teaching ideas on topics such as conservation, health, food, wildlife, climate change, social justice and sustainable living, as well as provocative questions designed to stimulate educational debate. Written by two highly experienced UK-based educators, it draws together specially commissioned contributions from Australia, Israel, Norway, South Africa, the UK and the USA. Key concepts and links to the UN Global Goals (SDGs), are highlighted throughout. A companion website offers a carefully curated guide to online resources, planning/teaching materials and additional articles for discussion
UHI Library subscribes to a range of academic journals on the following subjects:
Using BrowZine, you can browse, read, and monitor the online journals that are available from the university library. It can be accessed on the web or you can download the app to your mobile device.
With BrowZine, you can:
Over 4,700 articles from academic and general-interest titles on aspects of human impact to the environment; also index and abstracts for more than 384,000 records. Subject Areas include : Global Warming; Green Technologies; Pollution; Renewable Energy; Sustainable Agriculture. NOTE: You may be asked to create an account to download and read offline. You can still read online without creating an account. UHI does not recommend the creation of an account, this is done at your own risk.
The following full text journals are available via this site: Nature Biotechnology; Nature Cell Biology; Nature Genetics; Nature Geoscience; Nature Methods; Nature Medicine; Nature Reviews of Molecular Cell Biology; Nature Protocols and the British Dental Journal.
For information on how to register (for the first time) to use this resource please see here.
Agreeing to the licence : Upon logging in, the first time you wish to access Environment Digimap, you will need to accept its sub-license agreement, which tells you what you can and can't do with the data.
Provides mapping data from the UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology which can be viewed or downloaded for different years. It currently covers the period 1990 - 2020. Dudley Stamp’s maps of the 1930’s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain can also be viewed here.
Allows for cross searching other collections. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes specialized, editorially-curated Abstract and Indexes resources covering e.g effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
Our friends at the National Library of Scotland have curated a collection of resources to inspire climate action, including journals, reports, newspapers, images, maps, and webinars.
