Skip to main content

Perth College UHI Library

Perth College UHI Library user guide

Welcome

This page introduces essential aspects of Perth College and the UHI library service that are relevant to all subjects, including:

  • Borrowing and returning
  • Studying on campus
  • Accessing eBooks
  • Using the library catalogue and other search facilities
  • Borrowing rights
  • Where to get help.

Further information on each area is available by clicking on the tabs to the side of this page. 

image of a student browsing the library shelves

Library Live Chat support service

You can now contact the UHI Library Services using the new Library Live Chat service.

The Library Live Chat service is available Monday - Friday from 9 am - 5 pm

You can watch a video showing you how to find and use the Live Chat service.

Study facilities (normal service suspended until further notice)

Study facilities

Due to Covid-19 our study facilities will have restricted access and opening hours during Semester 1 and perhaps longer. Further information will be updated as and when available. As we are operating a phased return to normal opening, it is advisable to call ahead 01738877721 to check what study space is available during the current crisis. You are now able to book a study space in advance. You can book a PC or Mac or you can Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) and book a study space without a PC. To book you can email the library on library.perht@uhi.ac.uk or click this link Book Your Library Study Space Here  or you can book study spaces through the Perth College Library app 

Situated on the First Floor of the Brahan Building, the Library is a quiet environment in which to work. It provides individual study space with 15 computers for you to use.  We also have 40 study spaces available with a mix of individual and group study.  We ask that you keep noise levels to a minimum and respect other students who are using the Library.

The Quiet Study area is adjacent to the Library and is an open-plan area for individual quiet study.  You are welcome to bring your own device as the quiet study area has 22 study booths with a power point at each one if required. If you do not have your own device you can borrow one for the day from the library. 

On Floor 2 of the library you will find a flexible study space with a further 30 study spaces that can be used for individual or group study as well as 2 bookable rooms for collaborative working.

WiFi is available throughout the College - select Eduroam from the list of available networks.

image of the Library quiet study room

Behaviour

Please respect other users by behaving in an appropriate and respectful manner. Please speak to a member of the Library team if you think a fellow student is behaving in an inappropriate way.

Mobile phones should be set to 'silent' in all areas of the Library so that you do not disturb others. Please leave the Library if you need to make a call.

Children are welcome in the Library for short periods of up to 2 hours at a time but please ensure that they are supervised at all times.

Food and drink

Please do not eat or drink in the Library - this is so that we can maintain a clean and safe environment for you to study in.  Bottled water is allowed.

 

Returning books - arrangements during Covid-19 pandemic

The college library is now open for return of borrowed items - if you are a returning student please return your items to the library as soon as you can so we have them for other students to use at the beginning of Semester 1. If you are unable to return items in person please email us at library.perth@uhi.ac.uk and we will provide details of how to return them using the postal service. 
Please note: books returned to us by post or in person may still appear on your library account for a number of days following return; as all items will be quarantined for 72 hours.

 

Book return box

You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. Please return books as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

Please note: following government guidelines face coverings are mandatory in the library for the time being. You must also sign in to the college as you enter the Foyer and sign out as you leave. There is a Book Return box located to the right as you go up the stairs in to the library.  All books will be quarantined on return for 72 hours before being removed from your library account and being placed back on the shelves. For the time being there is a one way system as well as social distancing markers in the library; this is for your safety and is clearly marked. 

Books returned via our Postal Loans service will also be quarantined for 72 hours before being returned to the shelves.

Book return box at top of stairs in the library

image of the Library book return box

 

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books (normal service suspended until further notice)

Borrowing books

You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan period is Standard loan which means you can potentially have the book for the full Semester; unless another student requests it. If another student requests a book that you have out on loan you will get an email to ask you to return the book to the library. You must return the book by the new due date otherwise you are disadvantaging fellow students.  You will need your student ID card to borrow books.

As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks and eJournals which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue covers all of the material held at Perth College UHI plus the library collections of all our partner institutions in the University of the Highlands and Islands. The catalogue also provides links to eBooks. Books for loan held by other libraries within the University of the Highlands and Islands may be borrowed through the Inter-Site Loan scheme.  The library catalogue can be searched from any internet enabled device. At the moment there is no physical browsing allowed so we are encouraging everyone to browse online via Libcat.

A self-issue unit is available at the issue desk in the Library. This is temporarily out of action due to Covid-19. Once the self-issue is back in operation please see the MeeScan guide for further information.

We also have a fiction collection on Floor 2 and a collection of DVDs by the issue desk if you want to take a break from your course textbooks. Due to Covid-19 restrictions the DVDs are not currently in circulation.

Click and Collect service

Due to Covid-19 we cannot allow staff and students to browse our shelves. We have therefore introduced a new system for borrowing books called Click and Collect, you can watch a video guide to Click and Collect

To make use of this service please check the catalogue for book availability and complete the online form   Alternatively you can email book requests to library.perth@uhi.ac.uk. For each book we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition and the shelf mark. Please use your College email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books. You will be given a date and time for collection, please arrive at your given time.  

Postal service 

If you are unable to collect your requested books in person, you can request a Postal Loan.  Please complete the online form or email us at library.perth@uhi.ac.uk.  Books will be posted to you with a Freepost return label.

Intersite loans

If you need to borrow material held at another library within the University of the Highlands and Islands, please complete the relevant online request form (for Click and Collect or Postal ) or email library.perth@uhi.ac.uk with details and we will request the items on your behalf, this may not be possible during this time.  If an eBook is available the lending library may decline your request.

British Library loans

If the material you want is not available in any of the partner libraries, please ask about a British Library loan.  If the book is not in stock, we may also consider purchasing a copy for our collection which you can then borrow.

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Catalogue. If your books have become overdue please email library.perth@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If you have problems renewing your books, please contact us. You can watch this video guide Renewing books online

Overdue books

You will not incur an overdue charge if your book is late back unless the book has been recalled by another user and you have not returned it on time. If you do not return your book when requested to do so there will be an overdue charge of £1 per day. If your book has not been recalled by another user and it becomes overdue you will receive an email the day after your book is due to remind you to renew or return it.  After two further reminder emails, unless your PAT has informed us that you have mitigating circumstances which prevented you from returning the book on time, you will be invoiced for the replacement cost of the book.  

Reserving books

Perth College UHI students or staff may reserve or recall a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email to library.perth@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note: reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.

It is not currently possible to reserve books online.

Due to Covid-19 we cannot allow staff and students to browse our shelves. We have therefore introduced a new system for borrowing books called Click and Collect

To make use of this service please check the catalogue for book availability and complete the online form   Alternatively you can email book requests to library.perth@uhi.ac.uk. For each book we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your College email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books. You will be given a date and time for collection, please arrive at your given time.