Skip to Main Content

A-Z Online Collections

Find the best library collections for your research.

Loading...

Welcome to the A-Z collections list

The A-Z collections list helps you find suitable resources for your studies and research. If it is your first visit you may want to watch a short introductory video that will help you get started.

Accessibility

Whenever you see the following blue icon next to the name of a collection, it means there is further accessibility information about that resource on the supplier's website.

accessibility information icon

 

Further details about the accessibility of library services can be found in our Accessibility Libguide. Please contact the library if you require any further assistance.

New / Trial Collections

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Based at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies. British and Irish case law and legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.
New
Gives you access to over 4,000 full-text publications including newspapers, trade journals, magazines, and peer-reviewed academic journals. Explore the world?s companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more. Part of the Gale Research Complete set of resources
New
Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.
New
Alternate Name(s) CTR
Students need to consult their lecturers about which referencing style to use. This is the official UHI support tool for the Harvard style : Cite Them Right Harvard 12th edition from August 2023. Cite them Right is also an online platform designed to advise students on how to reference correctly across eight referencing styles. These include Chicago, Harvard, APA, IEEE, MLA; and Cite Them Right has teaching tools that can teach the user how to reference just about any source. The platform contains useful articles and videos which help to guide students into common queries around referencing, including how to avoid plagiarism and understanding the differences between secondary and primary sources. For guidance of how to find these pages, please refer to the help page.
New
Note : As of 1st August 2023 this resource has been withdrawn from use by the supplier. Any queries please contact your college librarian.
Provides users with a collection of 22 digital resources such as guides and interactive learning materials which are mapped to all mandatory NVQ and SVQ construction units, as well as some extra. Links to the curriculum, learning outcomes and there is explicit comprehensive coverage of the latest National Occupational Standards (NOS).
New
An authoritative reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. No login required.
New
Note : As of 1st August 2023 this resource has been withdrawn from use by the supplier. Any queries please contact your college librarian. It consists of high quality learning resources across 17 units; ranging from videos, guides, infographics and non-linear interactive learning materials. Links to the curriculum and learning outcomes are made explicit with comprehensive coverage of the latest National Occupational Standards (NOS). Resources are mapped to NVQ, SVQ and forthcoming T-Level qualifications.
  • Yes tick
New
Alternate Name(s) DOAB
Over 27,000 Academic peer-reviewed books from 377 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. DOAB enables you to search the description of the books and enables you to download the books from the site of the publisher. DOAB is a discovery services that points to OA books that can be found elsewhere. All books listed in DOAB have a full OA licence, making them 'free to share'.
New
Note : As of 1st August 2023 this resource has been withdrawn from use by the supplier. Any queries please contact your college librarian. High quality learning resources across 47 units; ranging from videos, guides, infographics and non-linear interactive learning materials. Links to the curriculum and learning outcomes are made explicit with comprehensive coverage of the latest National Occupational Standards (NOS). Resources are mapped to NVQ, SVQ and forthcoming T-Level qualifications.
New
European Parliament's database for monitoring the EU decision-making process.
Cross search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships; British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900; British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900 and the Times Digital Archive.
Via this collection users can access primary sources, e-reference, eBook and eJournal content, literary criticism and full text literary works as well as rare primary source content.
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including videos from BBC Worldwide Learning to thousands of podcasts and transcripts from CNN. It includes more than 11,000 peer-reviewed journals (more than 8,000 in full text), and major reference sets including Gale Encyclopaedia of Science and Encyclopaedia of World Biography.
Consists of more than 290,000 documents totaling 12 million pages. Individual titles in the collection range between 1,200 and 200,000 pages. It includes primary sources on U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
New
Offering more than 13,000 (and counting) academic eBooks on a variety of topics.
Provides access to current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors such as J.K. Rowling, Isaac Asimov, Isabel Allende, Joyce Carol Oates, Michael Crichton, Derek Walcott, Dave Barry, Toni Morrison, Neil Simon, and many others. Each entry contains comprehensive and up-to-date information,
Through tens of thousands of historical and contemporary analyses, users gain perspective on literature and time periods through the words and thoughts of authors, playwrights, artists, historians, literary critics, musicians, statesmen, saints, villains, world leaders, and more. Covers drama, Shakespeare, children's literature, poetry; and classical, medieval and 14th - 20th century literature.
Provides access to biographical essays focusing on all genres and time periods of American and British literature and selected other literatures. Essays discuss the lives and careers of authors and summarize critical responses to their work.
Provides access to literary works and secondary source materials covering literature and authors throughout history and across the globe. It includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
Provides access to : news, primary sources, literary works, images, links to audio, interviews and reviews, plus overview and full-text literary criticism on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Plus more than 160,000 complete entries from two award-winning series – Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography – providing in-depth biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors’ lives and works. Includes content that supports interdisciplinary approaches to the humanities, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills.
Original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world.
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Totaling more than 290 volumes, 20,000 entries, and nearly 30,000 images
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. View full text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life, or create an "In Depth Search" and design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, nationality, and time period. This database also contains "Research Ideas" in that the user may view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
Alternate Name(s) See also under Newspapers : Gale OneFile News
Provides access to more than 2,300 major world newspapers, and includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
New
Note : As of 1st August 2023 this resource has been withdrawn from use by the supplier. Any queries please contact your college librarian. The site provides users with a collection of 91 digital resources such as videos, guides, infographics and interactive learning materials which are mapped to all mandatory NVQ and SVQ health and social care units, as well as some extra. Links to the curriculum, learning outcomes and there is explicit comprehensive coverage of the latest National Occupational Standards (NOS).
New
To search for articles it is strongly recommended that you use the URL; DOI - digital object identifier; PMID - the PubMed unique identifier number or PMC ID - Pub Med Central ID number. Titles and citations are less helpful. Searching using keywords doesn't work.
New
The archive contains: interviews with key figures in performance history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist performance trainers from around the world; footage direct from legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences: and specially commissioned contextual essays accompanying each entry from knowledgeable practitioners and scholars.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
  • Yes tick
New
The collection provides access to Birlinn’s growing collection of new and backlist titles in one convenient online destination. Current content (September 2022) has over 150 full text titles. There is / will be access to Birlinn’s newest history titles and backlist, including the complete backlist of the John Donald academic imprint along with titles first published by Tuckwell Press.
New
The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology is a nascent online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of Theology with rigour and clarity. Supported by St Mary's College of the University of St Andrews and generously funded by the John Templeton Foundation, it will be comparable to, and to some extent modelled on, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, internationally recognized as a highly successful, authoritative resource and a driver of its discipline.
From the Royal Archives at Windsor Castle, the Stuart Papers represent the correspondence and personal documents of the exiled members of the Stuart dynasty after 1688. Also included: the Cumberland Papers of William Augustus, Duke of Cumberland and second surviving son of George II. Taken together they provide a unique window into the world of the Stuarts and their Jacobite followers, as well as to the incumbent Hanoverian monarchy during a time of continental wars, domestic conspiracies and rival claims to the Throne.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...