Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inverness College UHI Library and LRC

A guide to using the Library and Learning Resource Centre of Inverness College UHI

Study facilities (by appointment only from 31st August 2020)

Study facilities

The Library is currently closed for book browsing and study space.  

The Learning Resource Centre (LRC) is adjacent to the Library and is an open-plan area for individual or group study.  It has  computers and flexible study spaces.  You are welcome to bring your own device.

WiFi is available throughout the College - select Eduroam from the list of available networks.

Note: Due to Covid-19 our study facilities will have restricted access and opening hours during Semester 1 and perhaps longer. To book a computer, please click here.  To book a study space, please click here.

Behaviour

Please respect other users by behaving in an appropriate and respectful manner. Please speak to a member of the Library team if you think a fellow student is behaving in an inappropriate way.

Mobile phones should be set to 'silent' so that you do not disturb others. Please leave the area if you need to make a call.

Children are welcome, but please ensure that they are supervised at all times.

Food and drink

Please do not eat or drink in the Library or LRC - this is so that we can maintain a clean and safe environment for you to study in.  Bottled water is fine, and a water cooler is available in the LRC.

                                                                    

   

Borrowing, renewing and reserving books (limited service available from 31st August 2020)

Borrowing books

You may borrow up to 15 books at any one time. The loan period is either 14 or 28 days - it will say on the side of the book.  

As well as print books the Library service also provides access to a vast collection of eBooks and eJournals which can be read online or downloaded. Our Library Catalogue covers all of the material held at Inverness College plus all the partner university library collections. The catalogue also provides links to the eBooksBooks for loan held by other university libraries may be borrowed through the Inter-Site Loan scheme (please note: due to Covid-19, the majority of libraries have suspended their Inter-Site Loan lending).  

We also have a small collection of leisure reading, DVDs and an Honesty Library if you want to take a break from your course textbooks.

Click and Collect service (from 31st August 2020)

Due to Covid-19 we cannot allow staff and students to browse our shelves. We have therefore introduced a new system for borrowing books called Click and Collect

To make use of this service please check the catalogue for book availability and complete the online form.  For each book we need to know the title; first author name or editor name; publication year or edition. Please use your College email so we can identify you.

Book requests will be processed as soon as possible and you will be notified by email when you can collect the books. 

Postal service (from 31st August 2020)

If you are unable to collect your requested books in person, you can request a Postal Loan.  Please complete the online form.  Books will be posted to you with a Freepost return label.

Intersite loans (limited service)

If you need to borrow material held at another university library, please complete the relevant online request form (for Click and Collect or Postal) or email library.ic@uhi.ac.uk with details and we will request the items on your behalf.  Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the lending library may not be able to supply the book.  They may also decline to lend if an eBook is available.

British Library loans

If the material you want is not available in any of the partner libraries, please ask about a British Library loan.  If the book is not in stock, we may also consider purchasing a copy for our collection which you can then borrow.

Renewing books

Books can be renewed online via MyDay or by logging into the Library Catalogue. If your books have become overdue please email library.ic@uhi.ac.uk and we will renew them for you (as long as they have not been reserved by someone else). If you have problems renewing your books, please contact us.

We do not impose a daily overdue charge if your book is late back, however, you will receive an email the day after your book is due to remind you to renew or return it.  After two further reminder emails, unless your PAT or PDA has informed us that you have mitigating circumstances which prevented you from returning the book on time, you will be invoiced for the replacement cost of the book.  It is important to return books on time so that other students can access them too.

There is a useful video guide here.

Reserving books

Inverness College UHI students or staff may reserve a book that is already out on loan (as long as it is a book from our Library) by sending an email to library.ic@uhi.ac.uk and quoting the details of the book. Please note:  reserved books will only be held for a limited number of days before going back into circulation. You will be sent an email when books are available for collection.

It is not currently possible to reserve books online.

Returning books

Access to the college premises is by appointment only.  Please visit the Student Return to Campus guide on the College website for further details.

Book return box

You will receive an automatic email when books are due to be returned. If you no longer require a book please return it as soon as possible to make it available for other people to borrow. If you need the book longer you can usually renew it (if it is not reserved).

There is a Book Return box located in the Ground Floor Atrium.  All books will be quarantined on return for 72 hours before  being placed back on the shelves. 

Books returned via our Postal Loans service will also be quarantined for 72 hours before being returned to the shelves.