If you cannot obtain the materials you need from our Libraries or you would like to use a Library closer to your home, there are a number of possibilities that you can investigate to gain access to other libraries.
The following groups may obtain borrowing or reference rights from other participating UK and Irish libraries via SCONUL Access
You can apply for a SCONUL Access card by filling in the online application form and selecting the university library you want to visit and filling in the short application form. Your application will then be approved online by staff at our Library and you will receive an email confirming that your application is approved. You should then print this out and take it along to the Library you wish to access along with your student registration card. If you want to use more than one university library, you can take the same email along to those Libraries to request access there.
Before setting out to use another University Library it would be wise to check their opening hours and also to search their catalogues for the items you require.
The National Library of Scotland, the largest library in Scotland, has a collection of over 6 million items. As a 'legal deposit' library it can claim a single copy of every publication produced in the UK. NLS is however a reference library so its stock is not available for loan. The Library also provides access to a number of useful electronic resources, click here to see the List of Electronic Resources.
Make sure you read the advice about what forms of identification NLS will accept on your first visit on the relevant pages above.
SCOTBIS The Scottish Business Information Service (SCOTBIS) is part of the National Library of Scotland, and is based in the National Library building on George IV Bridge, Edinburgh. SCOTBIS is based on the vast resources of the National Library of Scotland. At NLS you can access market research reports, business databases, international directories, and business and trade journals (some remotely).
The Scottish Business Information Service welcomes enquiries from students who require information not held at the University Library.
For more information about the SCOTBIS collections and how to access them, see their website: http://www.nls.uk/business
The British Library is the national library of the United Kingdom and is an international research library. It has the world's finest single collection of books, journals, manuscripts, maps, printed music, philatelic items and sound recordings, covering all subject areas, and in all known written languages.
How to register for a reader pass - take note of the information about identification required and access to the various collections.
A series of videos have been produced about using the British Library's collections:
Your local public library can provide you with access to resources, study space and in some cases, access to the Internet. Most authorities in the UK are organised around a central library with a series of connected branch libraries.
A range of Libraries throughout Moray - http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_1472.html
A range of Libraries throughout Highland - https://www.highlifehighland.com/libraries/
Western Isles Libraries/Leabharlainn nan Eilean Siar
A range of Libraries throughout the Western Isles. Further details
If the University Library does not have the item you want, you could try to find it in another library - see the links below. Before you set out for another library, search its catalogue to check that the item you want is available, and also check what you have to do to gain access to the library. Alternatively, you can suggest we purchase a book or you may be entitled to use the Document Delivery Service.
COPAC gives access to the combined catalogues of the largest university libraries including Cambridge, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Oxford. It also searches the English Short Title Catalogue: mainly British and American publications published between 1473 and 1800. A full list of current contributors is available as is documentation.
SUNCAT (Serials Union Catalogue) most comprehensive source of information about the location of journals held in libraries throughout the UK. Online user guides and video tutorials are available.
UK Active map of Universities and HE Institutions Interactive map and listing provided by the University of Wolverhampton. Click on your chosen institution in the list. A link to its library/learning centre appears in the list on the right.
InforM25 enables simultaneous access to over 120 college and university library catalogues in the London area. A full list of current contributors is available as is help with using.
Find a Book (previously called CAIRNS) allows you to search across other University and Public library catalogues in Scotland. It includes Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow Caledonian, Glasgow, Napier, Queen Margaret College, St Andrews, Stirling, Strathclyde and Abertay, as well as the National Library of Scotland.
SALSER - looking for a journal not at UHI? SALSER searches the catalogues of the major libraries in Scotland and will tell you where your journal is available.
National Libraries
The National Library of Scotland the largest library in Scotland, has a collection of over 6 million items. As a 'legal deposit' library it can claim a single copy of every publication produced in the UK. NLS is however a reference library so its stock is not available for loan. The Library also provides access to a number of useful electronic resources.
The British Library, London can be used for reference and research which cannot readily be done elsewhere. See above for access advice.
The Library of Congress catalogues are also available online.
National Health Service Libraries
Knowledge Network Catalogue This catalogue searches the holdings of many health related libraries in Scotland. You can specify a particular library or search across all the libraries.
WorldCat is the largest library network in the world, it covers more than 10,000 libraries world wide. You can search for books, music CDs and videos.
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK) allows you to simultaneously search some of the world's biggest research libraries.
The Archives Hub is a gateway to archives held in UK university and college libraries, forming part of the National Archives Network. Comprises fully indexed archival descriptions which can be searched in a variety of ways.
The Scottish Archive Network (SCAN) website contains an online catalogue of the holdings of more than 50 Scottish archives. It also includes many digitised records, e.g. wills and testaments.
Catalogue of chapbooks held by 4 Scottish libraries: Stirling University Library, National Library of Scotland, Glasgow University Library and Edinburgh Central Library.