Skip to main content

Highland Health Sciences Library: Recommended Nursing Resources

Description of Library and services

Welcome

This section aims to point you towards the key resources relating to health from the main A-Z list.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL

Stands for Cumulated Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature - along with Medline one of the original computer health databases.  Contains a wealth nof nursing information but also as the name suggests other health related materials.  Primarily American but also worldwide.

Web of Science

The "web" part comes from the fact that the articles and their citations are all interconnected in this database.  The database covers a wide range of subject areas not just health - social sciences, the arts, humanities and all the sciences.  NB For off campus use MyUHI.

SportsDiscus

Mainly sports/exercise related database.  Extremely useful though for information on injuries, orthopaedics, rehabilitation, physiotherapy and occupational therapy.

SCOPUS

Another all round database in the manner of Web of Knowledge - covering a wide range of subjects

Knowledge Network

This is the main clinical tool for use by the NHS in Scotland.  It contains a collection of evidence based tools, databases, electronic books and journals, communities of practice and educational resources.  A key resource to use alongside those available to you through the University.  Requires NHS Scotland Athens username/password.

Nursing Reference Center PLUS

An supplement to CINAHL

Health Source

This database contains the full text of over 500 peer reviewed health related journals, and abstracts for 850 journals.