Skip to main content

A-Z Online Collections

Find the best library collections for your research.

Loading...

A-Z Frequently Asked Questions

I get no results, what is the search box for?

The search at the top of the page is for finding eCollections (sometimes know as databases). For example, Ebsco, Science Direct etc. It does not search at book or article level. Searching book titles will produce no results.

Where do I find books and eBooks then?

The library catalogue contains all print and eBooks. Alternatively, the eBook guide contains a search box solely for electronic books and some further guidance.

What about journal and newspaper articles?

You can enter your chosen collection and then search for journal articles. An alternative is to use Multisearch, which produces results across the majority of our collections, linking straight to the full-text.

And British Standards?

Entering a standard number into the A-Z search box will produce no results. British standards can be found in British Standards Online under "B" on the list. Login to the collection then search by standard number.

If you need any assistance finding a book, eBook, journal article or standard please contact your college library and they will be happy to help.

New / Trial Collections

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Yes tick
New
Full text for more than 1,300 journals, dating back to 1937, indexed in CINAHL Database. Indexing for more than 5,400 journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more and provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
  • Yes tick
New
8748 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 224 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. DOAB enables you to search the description of the books and enables you to download the books from the site of the publisher.
  • Yes tick
New
This subscription collection features more than 480 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
  • Yes tick
New
Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered also include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
  • Yes tick
New
Over 160,000 articles from more than 300 journals by end of 2017, this premium collection provides access to eJournal content dating from 1994 to the current day’. http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/collections/pdf/ejournals_brochure.pdf This means we have access to all the journals in the collection. The journals cover the following subject areas: Public Policy & Environmental Management; Business, Management and Strategy; Tourism and Hospitality Management; Marketing; HR, Learning and Organization Studies; Operations, Logistics and Quality; Property Management and Built Environment; Information and Knowledge Management; Accounting, Finance and Economics; Health and Social Care; Education; Library Studies; Engineering.
  • Yes tick
New
A full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
  • Yes tick
New
The Official Journal of the World Scientific Congress of Golf.
  • Yes tick
New
Internurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.
New
Part of Web of Science. A systematic, objective means to evaluate the world’s leading scientific and scholarly journals. It analyzes citation references and measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. It includes: 11,000+ indexed journals; nearly 250 disciplines; 81 countries; 2.2 million articles, reviews, and other source items.

Off campus access: Via MyUHI
New
An authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
New
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
Key features:
- Coverage dating back to 1946
- Access to Ovid MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
- Access to ePub Ahead of Print—4,500+ new records per week
- Access to full text for over 1,000 Open Access journals
- Clinical Queries from McMaster University—customized for Ovid
New
5 report collections are available: Brands (Big Picture, UK); Lifestyles (UK); Media (UK); Retail (Clothing and Footwear, UK); Technology (UK)
  • Yes tick
New
Includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases (formerly ASFA) and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Coverage is from 1946 - current.
  • Yes tick
New
Provides information on nursing best practices with evidence-based information. Access care plans and watch video demonstrations. Access information about diseases and conditions, evidence based care sheets, nursing management topics, drug information, patient education handouts, nursing skills and procedures, skill competency checklists, nursing eBooks, legal cases and research instruments,
  • Yes tick
New
The magazine and its website nursingtimes.net publish original nursing research and a host of clinical articles. It also features a comprehensive section on nursing jobs with both NHS jobs and the full spectrum of other nursing careers available to be looked at.
It also provides a professional and clinical news service; an extensive Opinion section where nurses debate the hot topics; in-depth features on nursing issues and topics, such as nurse prescribing, and clinical supplements covering four main areas of practice - infection control, respiratory, continence and wound care.
  • Yes tick
New
Open Access Publishing in European Networks: A central repository for hosting and disseminating OA books. Currently hosting more than 3000 titles.The OAPEN Library contains full text freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. You can search both the contents and the description of the books in the OAPEN Library, and you can download the book directly.
  • Yes tick
New
Complete full text, including text and images, of more than 22,000 current articles. Access to 51 research and practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995. Over 375,000 bibliographic records from over 400 nursing journals
Includes links from bibliographic records to relevant full text in Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) and additional full text
New
With nearly 2,500 journals covered and over 4 million records this resource focuses on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioural and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
  • Yes tick
New
Royal College of Nursing full text Journals: Cancer Nursing Practice; Emergency Nurse; Evidence Based Nursing; Learning Disability Practice; Mental Health Practice; Nursing Children and Young People; Nursing Management; Nursing Older People; Nurse Researcher; Nurse Researcher; Nursing Standard; Primary Health Care; RCN Bulletin Jobs
New
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
  • Yes tick
New
This is an abstract and indices database where full text articles from other collections can be found by ticking the box ‘Linked Full Text’ in the search platform. This authoritative database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. It is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of fitness, health and sport studies.
New
STIR is a quarterly magazine that promotes new economic alternatives, exploring where the social economy, the commons and civic society come together. We feature original illustrations, long-form interviews, and in-depth articles that move beyond traditional political commentary to explore the inspiring and viable alternatives that present a serious challenge to the current political crisis.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...