Skip to main content

A-Z Online Collections

Find the best library collections for your research.

Loading...

A-Z Frequently Asked Questions

I get no results, what is the search box for?

The search at the top of the page is for finding eCollections (sometimes know as databases). For example, Ebsco, Science Direct etc. It does not search at book or article level. Searching book titles will produce no results.

Where do I find books and eBooks then?

The library catalogue contains all print and eBooks. Alternatively, the eBook guide contains a search box solely for electronic books and some further guidance.

What about journal and newspaper articles?

You can enter your chosen collection and then search for journal articles. An alternative is to use Multisearch, which produces results across the majority of our collections, linking straight to the full-text.

And British Standards?

Entering a standard number into the A-Z search box will produce no results. British standards can be found in British Standards Online under "B" on the list. Login to the collection then search by standard number.

If you need any assistance finding a book, eBook, journal article or standard please contact your college library and they will be happy to help.

New / Trial Collections

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Data derived from the Agricultural Censuses provide realistic estimates of:
What was produced. How much was produced. Where it was produced.
Agricultural Census data can be downloaded for a GB territory for a particular year. The spatial distribution of census items for a given country and year can also be mapped. Log in via UK Federation
  • Yes tick
New
Provides a new platform for academics, artists, curators, art historians and theorists whose working practices are broadly concerned with contemporary art’s relation to the public sphere. APS aims to establish a critical relationship to traditional and conventional debates about public art and art in the public sector and the public realm. The double-blind peer-reviewed journal presents a crucial examination of contemporary art’s link to the public realm, offering an engaged and responsive forum in which to debate the newly emerging series of developments within contemporary thinking, society and international art practice.
New
'Time-saving resources for physical & manual therapists'. A multimedia platform including articles, videos. Sports people, physical and massage therapists will find the content particularly relevant. Users must create a personal user account on campus to allow for off campus access. This must be repeated every 90 days. Access can be created off campus by going through MyUHI and creating an account once every 90 days.
  • Yes tick
New
8748 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 224 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. DOAB enables you to search the description of the books and enables you to download the books from the site of the publisher.
Evidence and Policy: A Journal of Research, Debate and Practice;
New
The first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to comprehensive and critical assessment of the relationship between research evidence and the concerns of policy makers and practitioners, as well as researchers.
New
A comprehensive global news, newspaper and business information service. Supported Browsers: Chrome/ Firefox/Safari - most recent versons. Internet Explorer: 8.x through 11.x.
New
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.
New
Cross search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships; British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900; British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900 and the Times Digital Archive.
New
New Resource: Health and social care training provides high quality, engaging and innovative digital learning resources for teachers and students, including interactive content. Resources for every mandatory unit at levels 2 and 3 are available, ensuring coverage of all pathways, legislation and occupational standards in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland..
Human Organization
New
Publishes articles that advance, synthesize, and interpret the application of anthropological method and theory to the analysis and solution of practical problems in the contemporary world. Human Organization publishes articles dealing with all areas of applied social science. In addition to those reporting on original research, the journal publishes articles detailing innovative methodological and engaged research practices.
  • Yes tick
New
The journal presents a crucial examination of contemporary art's link to the public realm, offering an engaged and responsive forum in which to debate the newly emerging series of developments within contemporary thinking, society and international art practice. 2011 - 2017
  • Yes tick
New
Takes a cross-artform and interdisciplinary approach,including work happening in performance, visual arts and media,writing, multimedia and collaboration involving digital technology and associated forms. In part this will create an archive that will document work which can otherwise be ephemeral
Trial
Map collections: Ordnance Survey, Marine, Environment, Historic, Geology and Aerial Photography. To login: select 'Account' on the top right, choose UHI / University of the Highlands and Islands and use normal login details.
New
Part of Web of Science. A systematic, objective means to evaluate the world’s leading scientific and scholarly journals. It analyzes citation references and measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. It includes: 11,000+ indexed journals; nearly 250 disciplines; 81 countries; 2.2 million articles, reviews, and other source items.

Off campus access: Via MyUHI
  • Yes tick
New
The Journal of Arts and Communities is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal that seeks to provide a critical examination of the practices known as community or participatory arts, encompassing a field of work defined for this purpose as incorporating active, creative collaboration between artists and people in a range of communities.The journal takes a cross-artform and interdisciplinary approach, including work happening in performance, visual arts and media, writing, multimedia and collaboration involving digital technology and associated forms.
  • Yes tick
New
Authoritative and quality full text content, including primary law, expert commentary and practical guidance, from key jurisdictions around the world.
Multilingua : Journal of Cross-Cultural and Interlanguage Communication
New
Provides an international forum for interdisciplinary research on linguistic diversity in social life. Facilitates exchange of information and experience between academics and practitioners. Focuses on neglected sociolinguistic contexts worldwide. Features special issues allowing in-depth exploration of specific topics. Topics include: Bi- and multilingualism; Language education, learning, and policy; Inter- and cross-cultural communication; Translation and interpreting in social contexts; Critical sociolinguistic studies of language and communication in globalization, transnationalism, migration, and mobility across time and space.
New
To search for articles it is strongly recommended that you use the URL; DOI - digital object identifier; PMID - the PubMed unique identifier number or PMC ID - Pub Med Central ID number. Titles and citations are less helpful. Searching using keywords doesn't work.
Trial
A newsstand magazine for everyone interested in ideas. It is independent of all groups and has no intentional editorial bias. It appears every two months. It contains articles on all aspects of Western philosophy, as well as book reviews, letters, news, cartoons, and the occasional short story.
Off campus access via MyUHI.
New
Its overall goals are: (1) to provide a vehicle of communication and source of career information for anthropologists working outside academia; (2) to encourage a bridge between practice inside and outside the university; (3) to explore the uses of anthropology in policy research and implementation; (4) to serve as a forum for inquiry into the present state and future of anthropology in general.
New
Journal from All4Maternity that considers all aspects of midwifery. Off campus access via MyUHI (June 2019)
New
The archive contains: interviews with key figures in performance history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist performance trainers from around the world; footage direct from legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences: and specially commissioned contextual essays accompanying each entry from knowledgeable practitioners and scholars.
Trial
SAE Mobilus: Society for Automotive Engineering: Over 200,000 engineering resources including standards, technical papers, journal articles, magazines and eBooks. Off campus access via My UHI
New
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
New
The University subscribes to two journals: Human Organization - which publishes articles dealing with all areas of applied social science. In addition to those reporting on original research, the journal publishes articles detailing innovative methodological and engaged research practices. Practicing Anthropology: Its overall goals are: (1) to provide a vehicle of communication and source of career information for anthropologists working outside academia; (2) to encourage a bridge between practice inside and outside the university; (3) to explore the uses of anthropology in policy research and implementation; (4) to serve as a forum for inquiry into the present state and future of anthropology in general.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...