Skip to main content

A-Z Online Collections

Find the best library collections for your research.

Loading...

A-Z Frequently Asked Questions

I get no results, what is the search box for?

The search at the top of the page is for finding eCollections (sometimes know as databases). For example, Ebsco, Science Direct etc. It does not search at book or article level. Searching book titles will produce no results.

Where do I find books and eBooks then?

The library catalogue contains all print and eBooks. Alternatively, the eBook guide contains a search box solely for electronic books and some further guidance.

What about journal and newspaper articles?

You can enter your chosen collection and then search for journal articles. An alternative is to use Multisearch, which produces results across the majority of our collections, linking straight to the full-text.

And British Standards?

Entering a standard number into the A-Z search box will produce no results. British standards can be found in British Standards Online under "B" on the list. Login to the collection then search by standard number.

If you need any assistance finding a book, eBook, journal article or standard please contact your college library and they will be happy to help.

New / Trial Collections

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This bibliographic database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, consists of worldwide literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Since 1985, the CAB Thesaurus has been used to select controlled vocabulary terms for subject indexing. Library of Congress Subject Headings are used as controlled vocabulary for cataloging records. Coverage: 1970 to current
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: : This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses.
New
An international journal devoted to the study of Old and New World northern cultures and peoples. Archaeology, ethnology, physical anthropology, and related disciplines are represented, with emphasis on: studies of specific cultures of the arctic, subarctic and contiguous regions of the world; the peopling of the New World; relationships between New World and Eurasian cultures of the circumpolar zone; contemporary problems and culture change among northern peoples; and new directions in interdisciplinary northern research.
  • Yes tick
New
Provides a new platform for academics, artists, curators, art historians and theorists whose working practices are broadly concerned with contemporary art’s relation to the public sphere. APS aims to establish a critical relationship to traditional and conventional debates about public art and art in the public sector and the public realm. The double-blind peer-reviewed journal presents a crucial examination of contemporary art’s link to the public realm, offering an engaged and responsive forum in which to debate the newly emerging series of developments within contemporary thinking, society and international art practice.
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database provides specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water regions and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms and legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues. Coverage: 1971 - Current
New
The definitive guide to Britain's Film and TV history. Off campus access via MyUHI
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment. Coverage: 1946 - current
  • Yes tick
New
Full text for more than 1,300 journals, dating back to 1937, indexed in CINAHL Database. Indexing for more than 5,400 journals. Searchable cited references for more than 1,500 journals. Users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more and provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
New
'Time-saving resources for physical & manual therapists'. A multimedia platform including articles, videos. Sports people, physical and massage therapists will find the content particularly relevant. Users must create a personal user account on campus to allow for off campus access. This must be repeated every 90 days. Access can be created off campus by going through MyUHI and creating an account once every 90 days.
  • Yes tick
New
8748 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 224 publishers. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. DOAB enables you to search the description of the books and enables you to download the books from the site of the publisher.
New
A small dictionary of Doric words
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage: 1950 - current
  • Yes tick
New
This subscription collection features more than 480 hand-selected, quality e-books that focus on the needs of nursing professionals, including clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, practical handbooks and professional growth titles.
  • Yes tick
New
Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered also include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. This database also includes full text for books, monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
  • Yes tick
New
Over 160,000 articles from more than 300 journals by end of 2017, this premium collection provides access to eJournal content dating from 1994 to the current day’. http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/collections/pdf/ejournals_brochure.pdf This means we have access to all the journals in the collection. The journals cover the following subject areas: Public Policy & Environmental Management; Business, Management and Strategy; Tourism and Hospitality Management; Marketing; HR, Learning and Organization Studies; Operations, Logistics and Quality; Property Management and Built Environment; Information and Knowledge Management; Accounting, Finance and Economics; Health and Social Care; Education; Library Studies; Engineering.
Trial
Trial until 2nd Dec. 2018. A premier business and general reference resource with a broad collection of sources that reach across disciplines from business and current events to communications and technology, politics, foreign policy, and more.Gives users the power to monitor current news, track industry developments and global market activity, and research a global company. Off campus access - via MyUHI
New
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals.
New
Cross search: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships; British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1900; British Library Newspapers, Part II: 1800-1900 and the Times Digital Archive.
Trial
This trial ends at the end of October. Gale Reference Complete consists of the 15 collections including : InfoTrac Newsstand; Academic OneFile; Gale Literary Sources; Archives unbound. For the password please contact your local college librarian.
New
New Resource: Health and social care training provides high quality, engaging and innovative digital learning resources for teachers and students, including interactive content. Resources for every mandatory unit at levels 2 and 3 are available, ensuring coverage of all pathways, legislation and occupational standards in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland..
  • Yes tick
New
A full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Trial
Free trial until 3rd December 2018: The IEEE Xplore® digital library provides access to IEEE journals, transactions, letters, magazines and conference proceedings, IET journals and conference proceedings, IEEE Standards and IEEE educational courses. Off campus access is via MyUHI
  • Yes tick
New
The journal presents a crucial examination of contemporary art's link to the public realm, offering an engaged and responsive forum in which to debate the newly emerging series of developments within contemporary thinking, society and international art practice. 2011 - 2017
  • Yes tick
New
Takes a cross-artform and interdisciplinary approach,including work happening in performance, visual arts and media,writing, multimedia and collaboration involving digital technology and associated forms. In part this will create an archive that will document work which can otherwise be ephemeral
  • Yes tick
New
The Official Journal of the World Scientific Congress of Golf. Discontinued by publisher in 2017. Access to articles up to that time still available.
  • Yes tick
New
Internurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.
New
Part of Web of Science. A systematic, objective means to evaluate the world’s leading scientific and scholarly journals. It analyzes citation references and measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. It includes: 11,000+ indexed journals; nearly 250 disciplines; 81 countries; 2.2 million articles, reviews, and other source items.

Off campus access: Via MyUHI
  • Yes tick
New
The Journal of Arts and Communities is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal that seeks to provide a critical examination of the practices known as community or participatory arts, encompassing a field of work defined for this purpose as incorporating active, creative collaboration between artists and people in a range of communities.The journal takes a cross-artform and interdisciplinary approach, including work happening in performance, visual arts and media, writing, multimedia and collaboration involving digital technology and associated forms. For off campus access, go via MyUHI.
  • Yes tick
New
Authoritative and quality full text content, including primary law, expert commentary and practical guidance, from key jurisdictions around the world.
New
An authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
New
Updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers seamless and up-to-the-minute access to over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.
Key features:
- Coverage dating back to 1946
- Access to Ovid MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations
- Access to ePub Ahead of Print—4,500+ new records per week
- Access to full text for over 1,000 Open Access journals
- Clinical Queries from McMaster University—customized for Ovid
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: MEDLINE on this service contains over 20 million citations and abstracts, providing unparalleled access to worldwide biomedical literature. The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and since 2002, most citations previously included in separate NLM specialty databases such as SPACELINE and HISTLINE. Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1946 - current
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database provides editorially-curated A&I resources drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. Coverage:1950 - current
New
5 report collections are available:Drink (UK); Food (UK); Lifestyles (UK); Media (UK); Retail (Clothing and Footwear, UK);
New
Provides information and articles on the new music business.Off campus access via MyUHI. If user name and password are needed please contact your local academic partner librarian.
  • Yes tick
New
Includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, Biological Science Database, and Earth, Atmospheric & Aqua Databases (formerly ASFA) and provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Coverage is from 1946 - current.
  • Yes tick
New
The magazine and its website nursingtimes.net publish original nursing research and a host of clinical articles. It also features a comprehensive section on nursing jobs with both NHS jobs and the full spectrum of other nursing careers available to be looked at.
It also provides a professional and clinical news service; an extensive Opinion section where nurses debate the hot topics; in-depth features on nursing issues and topics, such as nurse prescribing, and clinical supplements covering four main areas of practice - infection control, respiratory, continence and wound care.
  • Yes tick
New
Open Access Publishing in European Networks: A central repository for hosting and disseminating OA books. Currently hosting more than 3000 titles.The OAPEN Library contains full text freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. You can search both the contents and the description of the books in the OAPEN Library, and you can download the book directly.
New
Held in the ProQuest platform and part of ASFA (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts), which is part of the Natural Science Collection: This database is focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. It focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Coverage is from 1981 - present
New
To search for articles it is strongly recommended that you use the URL; DOI - digital object identifier; PMID - the PubMed unique identifier number or PMC ID - Pub Med Central ID number. Titles and citations are less helpful. Searching using keywords doesn't work.
  • Yes tick
New
Complete full text, including text and images, of more than 22,000 current articles. Access to 51 research and practitioner- oriented journals. Journal coverage dates as far back as 1995. Over 375,000 bibliographic records from over 400 nursing journals
Includes links from bibliographic records to relevant full text in Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR) and additional full text
New
With nearly 2,500 journals covered and over 4 million records this resource focuses on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioural and social science research and literature, PsycINFO is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
New
The archive contains: interviews with key figures in performance history and contemporary practice; masterclasses with specialist performance trainers from around the world; footage direct from legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions and experiments; documentaries previously unavailable to global audiences: and specially commissioned contextual essays accompanying each entry from knowledgeable practitioners and scholars.
  • Yes tick
New
Royal College of Nursing full text Journals: Cancer Nursing Practice; Emergency Nurse; Evidence Based Nursing; Learning Disability Practice; Mental Health Practice; Nursing Children and Young People; Nursing Management; Nursing Older People; Nurse Researcher; Nurse Researcher; Nursing Standard; Primary Health Care; RCN Bulletin Jobs
New
Evidence-based clinical skills and procedures related to essential aspects of a patient's care.
1st September 2017: For user name and password please contact your local college librarian.
New
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
New
Records of: Testaments, Executry Papers, Births, Marriages and Deaths, from around Scotland
  • Yes tick
New
This is an abstract and indices database where full text articles from other collections can be found by ticking the box ‘Linked Full Text’ in the search platform. This authoritative database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. It is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of fitness, health and sport studies.
New
STIR is a quarterly magazine that promotes new economic alternatives, exploring where the social economy, the commons and civic society come together. We feature original illustrations, long-form interviews, and in-depth articles that move beyond traditional political commentary to explore the inspiring and viable alternatives that present a serious challenge to the current political crisis.
New
Held in the ProQuest platform in the Natural Science Collection to allow for cross searching other collections: This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1999 - current
  • No red cross vector
New
Publications address general or specialised public outside of the Organization and aim to disseminate ideas, facts and information related to the execution of UNESCO's programme. They can be published in print or electronic form and include both free and for-sale items. They include books, manuals, guides, reports, proceedings, periodicals, audios/videos, multimedia, etc.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...